FV congratulates new additions to FIFA Panel of International Referees

Football Victoria Congratulates Match Officials selected on the FIFA Panel of International Referees for 2019.

Victorian referees Jonathan Barreiro and Joanna Charaktis have been selected to join the Match Officials on the FIFA panel as announced by Football Federation Australia today.

Hyundai A-League Referees Kurt Ams and Jonathan Barreiro will join the Men’s Referee Panel along with new-coming Assistant Referees Lance Greenshields and Andrew Lindsay.

Similarly, Westfield W-League Referee Lara Lee and Assistant Referee Joanna Charaktis join the Women’s Panel for 2019.

2019 continues to mark significant milestones and experiences for Australia’s FIFA Match Officials.

Referees Chris Beath, Peter Green and Assistant Referees Matthew Cream and Anton Shchetinin are currently representing Australia at the AFC Asian Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

Meanwhile, Kate Jacewicz and Casey Reibelt showcase their skills on the international stage and will officiate at the FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

FV Referees Manager Luke Brennan was thrilled with the progression of Victorian referees to the game's highest ranks.

"The announcement of the FIFA list is a special day for everyone named, equally it’s a history making day for football as this is the highest number of Victorian FIFA officials in our football history," Brennan said.

"They are all high calibre referees and importantly high calibre people, their hard work and dedication has been excellent for a long time and we wish them well at international level."

Charaktis said to make the FIFA list was a dream come true.

"It has been an aspiration of mine for many years now...the news was surreal, I am so grateful for this opportunity.

"I hope to get the opportunity to attend the AFC Elite seminar at the end of 2019 to develop my knowledge and experience as an international assistant referee, and look forward to working with referees from other countries.

"I was lucky to be appointed to the VPL at a fairly young age and develop a lot of my skills at that level. I have continued to assist on the NPL and FFA Cup which has aided my development to get me to the level I am today."

Barreiro said to attain a FIFA badge was a goal he had held since he started refereeing.

"It's a great honour. I also realise that wearing a FIFA badge comes with the expectation that I set and example and perform at the highest level every time I walk out onto the football field.

"Being a part of AFC gives Australian referees so many opportunities to officiate across Asia and beyond, so I look forward to performing strongly abroad.

"Victorian football has been an ideal place to cut my teeth in refereeing. The NPL is fastest and most skillful state-based league in the country. It provides a great challenge for referees, who have to learn quickly to manage difficult situations and personalities, all while facilitating exciting football.

" I've had great mentors at FV. I particularly thank Jim Ouliaris, who has been instrumental in my development from an early stage...more recently Michael Fabian has been able to share his elite level experience from UEFA."

FFA Director of Referees Ben Wilson congratulated Australia’s new FIFA Match Officials.  

“I want to congratulate all of Australia’s 2019 FIFA panel but especially the six new match officials," he said.

"There are now 27 Australian referees and assistant referees on the FIFA list which reflects the strong development pathway for our referees. I look forward to seeing them all perform strongly again this year.”

Australian Match Officals on FIFA International Refereeing List

Men Referees: Kurt Ams, Jonathan Barreiro, Chris Beath, Shaun Evans, Jarred Gillett, Peter Green

Men Assistant Referees: Ashley Beecham, Matthew Cream, Ryan Gallagher, Owen Goldrick, Lance Greenshields, George Lakrindis, Andrew Lindsay, Nathan MacDonald, Anton Shchetinin

Women Referees: Rebecca Durcau, Kate Jacewicz, Lara Lee, Casey Reibelt

Women Assistant Referees: Joanna Charaktis Renae Coghill, Laura Moya, Sarah Ho

Men Futsal Referees: Andrew Best, Jonathon Moore, Ryan Shepheard, Darius Turner