Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

Inaugurated by Football Victoria in 2010, the Hall of Fame recognises extraordinary performance over a career by participants who have made a significant contribution to the game in Victoria. Having deliberated on the concept since its formation in 2008, Football Victoria's Historical Committee received strong support from Tony Dunkerley, President of Football Victoria at the time. Momentum continued via the input of revered historian Roy Hay and former Australian international Ted Smith, who helped establish the Football Australia equivalent over a decade earlier. Nomination and selection criteria were soon drafted and ultimately ratified in early 2010, with the Hall of Fame officially launched as part of the Gold Medal night celebrations later that year. In all, 28 individuals have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, from influential founding figures in the early establishment of the sport to modern day greats on the pitch. 

Honour Roll

2010 Harry Dockerty Betty Hoar Jimmy Rooney
2011 Theresa Deas Tom Jack Michael Weinstein
2012 Theo Marmaras Jane Oakley Paul Wade
2013 Alan Davidson Janette Melvin George Wallace
2014 Oscar Crino Arthur E Gibbs Deborah Nichols
2015 Melissa Barbieri John Dimtsis Billy Vojtek
2016 Jimmy Armstrong Shona Bass Frank McIver
2019 Michael Mandalis Tim White  
2021 Gary Cole Lynette McKernan Frank Micic
2022 Andrea Martin John Gardiner  


Policy and Nomination

While Football Victoria will call for nominations each year, you can nominate an individual at any time. If you feel you know someone who may meet with the criteria outlined in the Hall of Fame policy below, complete the nomination form and forward any supporting documentation to history@footballvictoria.com.au.

FV Hall of Fame Policy

FV Hall of Fame Nomination form