FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 match schedule released

Confirmed! The Matildas will call Victoria home for one of their FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023TM group stage matches, following FIFA’s announcement today of the tournament match schedule.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023TM is under 600 days away and the much-anticipated match schedule for the ninth edition of the tournament has now been confirmed.

FIFA today announced the 64-fixture match schedule which will feature 32-teams for the first time in the tournament jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Football Australia is pleased to have secured 35 of the 64 matches in Australia, including 11 of 16 knock-out stage matches.

The matches scheduled for Australia will comprise of 24 Group Stage matches, six Round of 16 matches, two Quarter Final matches, one Semi Final match, one Third Place Play-Off match and the Final to be played at Stadium Australia in Sydney / Gadigal. 

In great news for Australian fans, the Matildas will play all matches in Australia throughout the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 campaign, including their third Group Stage match in Melbourne.

Matildas fans

The Opening Match and Opening Ceremony for the first-ever co-hosted women’s tournament will take place on 20 July at New Zealand’s Eden Park in Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau. Meanwhile, on the same day, the Matildas will kick off their FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 campaign at the brand-new Sydney Football Stadium. Stadium Australia in Sydney/Gadigal has been selected to host the Final a month later, on 20 August.

The tournament will be played in nine Host Cities and ten stadiums in both Australia and New Zealand.

Group A’s Opening Match at Eden Park, Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau will see New Zealand’s Football Ferns take to the pitch, before Australia’s Matildas enter the tournament in Group B at the Sydney Football Stadium.

The Host Nations will split the remaining Group Stage fixtures with New Zealand hosting five further group stage matches in Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau, seven in Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-Tara, six in Dunedin/Ōtepoti and five in Hamilton/Kirikiriroa.

Australia will host six Group Stage fixtures at the Sydney Football Stadium, with Perth/Boorloo and Brisbane/Meaanjin both hosting five and a further four each in Melbourne/Naarm and Adelaide/Tarntanya.

The Round-of-16 matches will take place from 5-8 August with Stadium Australia activating to host its first match of the tournament. A further five matches will take place in Australia and the remaining two matches in New Zealand (Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau and Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-Tara).

The Quarter-Finals are split between the two Hosts Nations with matches in Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau, Brisbane/Meaanjin, Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-Tara and Stadium Australia in Sydney/Gadigal.

Both Australia and New Zealand will also host one Semi-Final each at Stadium Australia and Eden Park, while the match for third place will occur at Brisbane Stadium, Australia.

Speaking about the announcement of the match schedule Football Australia Chief Executive Officer James Johnson said:

“This morning’s release of the Official Match Schedule is another important milestone as we approach the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023. 

“We are very pleased with the match schedule from many perspectives.  It has delivered Australia a higher split of matches with 35 of a possible 64 matches being played across the five Australian host cities and includes a Matildas match on the opening day at the new Sydney Football Stadium, and the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Final at Stadium Australia.  It also guarantees that the Matildas will play all their matches in Australia, an important factor in the team’s preparation and for our fans.”

Australia’s Federal Minister for Sport, Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck said momentum was building as the countdown to the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 continues.

“The tournament will embody the nation’s passion for women’s football and provide Australians with the opportunity to watch, and be inspired by, the best footballers in the world,” Minister Colbeck said.

“It is a great privilege for Australia to host 35 matches, including the Final – a sporting showcase that will reinforce our growing reputation as a major events host.”


Victorian Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events, The Hon Martin Pakula welcomed the announcement.

“Victoria is a natural home for major sports events and global tournaments in 2023 won’t get any bigger than the FIFA Women’s World Cup.”

“We can’t wait to welcome the Matildas and other teams to Melbourne, along with thousands of soccer fans.”

Football Victoria President, Antonella Care celebrated the announcement for our state.

“The very best female footballers from across the globe will converge on Victoria during the tournament, and we know they will receive a very warm welcome from our state.

“Like all Australians, Victoria’s collective support will be behind our much-loved national team, so we are thrilled to have confirmation that the Matildas will be playing in Melbourne during the tournament. This will be a landmark moment for women’s football in our country and we just can’t wait.”

The Home of the Matildas at La Trobe University is scheduled for completion prior to the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023TM, providing an elite training base for the Matildas ahead of the highly anticipated tournament.

The pairings and kick-off times for each fixture will be available after the draw, which will be confirmed at a later stage.

Further information on the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023TM  can be found here.

Australian FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023TM Match Schedule


Venue / Match Schedule

Total matches

Sydney / Gadigal

Sydney Football Stadium

· 6 x Group matches

· 1 x Round of sixteen

Stadium Australia

· 1 x Round of sixteen

· 1 x Quarter Final

· 1 x Semi- Final

· 1 x Final


Brisbane / Meaanjin

Brisbane Stadium

· 5 x Group matches

· 1 x Round of sixteen

· 1 x Quarter Final

· 1 x Third place play-off


Melbourne / Naarm

Melbourne Rectangular Stadium

· 4 x Group matches

· 2 x Round of sixteen


Perth / Boorloo

Perth Rectangular Stadium

· 5 x Group matches


Adelaide / Tarntanya

Hindmarsh Stadium

· 4 x Group matches

· 1 x Round of sixteen