2023 Football Victoria Community Award Winners announced

Football Victoria (FV) is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2023 Football Victoria Community Awards.

The response from the football community was tremendous following the call for nominations in late September.

FV would also like to thank and acknowledge all of the nominees in addition to all of the other volunteers, administrators, Clubs, coaches, referees and people in our community who contribute to making our game so special.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners!

Community Female Referee of the Year: Georgia Booth

Georgia spent 2023 officiating across all leagues from junior NPL to Men's and Women's State League and has shown exceptional skill, growth, integrity, and dedication to refereeing our game across all levels. 

She furthered her refereeing career by representing Victorian officials in an interstate tournament and was selected as 4th official at the Nike FC Community Cup Final, capping off a fabulous season of refereeing.

Community Male Referee of the Year: Cam Moreno

Cam was a constant fixture within the refereeing community in 2023, completing over 100 matches during the season from junior games through to Men's and Women’s State League fixtures, finishing the season as the Match Official for the Metro Masters Final.

Throughout season 2023, he demonstrated outstanding officiating abilities, and sportsmanship, and provided a positive experience for all participants

Community Female Coach of the Year: Pina Mollica (Keilor Park SC)

Pina has seamlessly juggled her full-time commitments while coaching the "Little Eagles" program, her U11 Girls team, and spearheading the GO Soccer Mums Program at Keilor Park SC.

Her coaching commitment to teamwork, empowerment, and enjoyment has left an indelible mark on her community.

Community Male of the Year: Tome Petreski (West Point SC)

Tome has displayed exceptional dedication, unwavering leadership, and remarkable commitment to not only his team but his entire club.

This approach earned him over 20 nominations for this award, but also landed him West Point Soccer Club’s Presidents Award for his extraordinary service and commitment to the club

MiniRoos Centre of the Year: Kyneton District SC

Kyneton District SC made the decision to move their MiniRoos Kick-Off program to the Summer season, which witnessed a surge of 30 participants to 150 in 2023.

Congratulations on providing such a welcoming experience to our newest generation of footballers. 

Futsal Club/Centre of the Year: Futsal Ballarat

Futsal Ballarat has had a 14-year partnership with Football Victoria, growing to over 1,000 participants by delivering a high-quality and diverse futsal experience within the community. 

Regional Club of the Year: Sale United Football Club

Sale United FC has grown to over 1,000 participants in 2023 and runs an incredible suite of social programs outside of our standard competitions. 

The club has created an environment that has instituted female head coaches for both senior men's and women's teams, and grown female participation from 39 players to 250 players in 2023 - coinciding with an LVSL League Championship this year for their senior women's side. 

Metropolitan Club of the Year: Manningham United Blues FC

Manningham’s commitment to Women’s Football, through events like the Manningham Female Football Shield, has triggered extraordinary growth in female participation - a remarkable surge of 650% increase within just four years. 

The club has also demonstrated dedication to inclusivity through their All-Abiltieis Programs which run in collaboration with local NDIS partners. 

Male Volunteer of the Year: Ron Cole (Kyneton District SC)

Ron's identity and legacy is interwoven with his club and community, transitioning from playing and coaching roles into various committee and leadership positions at both Club and Association level over the past four decades. 

His commitment as a volunteer has also seen successful advocacy with Local, State, and Federal Governments to unlock investment in pitch, lighting, and facility infrastructure upgrades at Barkly Square, which are due to be formally opened next week – mostly due to his passion to create a welcoming family environment where everyone can come together through Football.

Female Volunteer of the Year: Amanda Armstrong (Whitehorse United SC)

For the past eight years, Amanda has been the heartbeat of her club, devoting her time, energy, and exceptional skills to elevate the football community. Despite the demands of being a single mother and working full-time, she has been a constant presence at the club.

Amanda's invaluable contributions extend across multiple spheres, from securing significant sponsorships and managing club events to overseeing merchandise distribution, social media, and website management, while also serving as a team manager for the Under 12s Joeys team.

Female Football Champions of the Year: Heather McGiddy (Brunswick City SC)

Heather loyally serves as a Committee Member and Women's Development Manager, and is lovingly known as a force of empowerment and progress within her club.

Her unwavering dedication and tireless efforts make her an amazing champion of our game, driving female football forward despite all obstacles, and shaping an inspiring legacy for the future