Football Victoria’s Premier Women’s State Knockout Cup



Rules and Regulations | Information and Notices | Fixtures and Results 

2018 Women's State Knockout Cup: Calder United SC

2019 Women's State Knockout Cup Key Information:

Round Progression - updated 19th December 2018

Key Information Memo - updated 19th December 2018

Team Entry Form - updated 19th December 2019


The Women’s State Knockout Cup has a very young history, as it was only established and first contested in 2012.

With the success of the Mirabella Cup in 2011, the women’s edition of the state cup was started to give female teams from all across the state to compete against each other in a knockout format.

Women’s Premier League powerhouse Box Hill United took out the first title, known as the Pelada Cup, defeating a young and exciting Bundoora United side 2-0 thanks to goals by Kat Smith and Georgia Koutrouvelis.

In 2013, a dominant South Melbourne WFC unit made it all the way to the final, but was beaten 1-0 by the experienced Sandringham, with Eliza Gleadell notching the only goal.

With a chance for redemption in 2014, South Melbourne succumbed yet again at the final hurdle, with FC Bulleen Lions taking out its maiden major honour with a 2-0 win, thanks to a wonder strike by Tessa Sernio and another to Emily Coppock.

The Lions had a chance to go back-to-back in 2015, but came up against a red-hot Boroondara Eagles, with the Eagles taking out the title with a comprehensive 5-3 win thanks to goals from Amy Jackson (2), Taryne Boudreau, Rani Cavaretta and a Maddie Stockdale own goal. Bulleen did manage three strikes of their own, through Racheal Quigley, Emily Coppock and Cindy Lay, but it wasn't enough against a strong Eagles' line-up.

2016 saw over 40 teams do battle in the competition, with Heidelberg United winning the cup for the first time, defeating FC Bulleen Lions 4-0 in the final played at ABD Stadium.

Bulleen made it to a third final in three years in 2016, however the side's fortunes didn't change against Heidelberg United, who ran away 4-0 winners. American striker Leigh Gray scored a hat-trick to win the Theresa Deas medal while Bonnie Barnes scored Heidelberg's third goal.

Winners list:

  • 2018 - Calder United SC
  • 2017 - Calder United SC
  • 2016 - Heidelberg United
  • 2015 - Boroondara Eagles
  • 2014 - FC Bulleen Lions
  • 2013 - Sandringham
  • 2012 - Box Hill United